Gingerbread time..

pic 1

This post is for my friend Helen who is by nature artsy crafty as I call it and will no doubt take the  construction of the Gingerbread men to another level.

My youngest gave me the reassuring nod when I made these for him and so I have passed the Gingerbread test with flying colours and is only important that I pass it on.

Ingredients 

350g plain flour

1 tsp bicarb

2 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp cinnamon

125g soft-ish butter

175g light brown sugar

1 x egg

4 x tablespoons of golden syrup

Method

bring together all of the dry ingredients then add butter and then mix together until breadcrumbs then add sugar. In a separate bowl mix your egg and golden syrup together and add to your dry mixture which now should resemble a big ball of dough. wrap this in cling film refrigerate for 30 mins.

Roll out your gingerbread dough on a floured surface and cut into shapes, place on a papered tray and bake until golden brown  or when the smell of ginger lingers through your house.

Try and roll out your gingerbread men out as thin as possible as they then add a nice crunch.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment